top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmerald Ishtari

#164 - MY HAIR

A few weeks ago I made the decision to do the "big chop" in real life. Family and friends alike went bonkers!!! "Whyyyyyyyyy would you do that?" "What's wrong with you?!?!" or my absolute favorite one, "how dare you cut off your beautiful hair?" Truth be told, when I told my stylist to cut it,...


♫ I looked in the mirror for the first time and saw that hey

I am not my hair

I am not this skin

I am not your expectations, no, no...♫ - India Arie

♫ I am not my hair! I am not this skin! I am not your expectations, NO! ♫

♫ What happened to her hair?

Little girl with the press and curl

Age eight, I got a Jheri curl

13 and I got a relaxer

I was a source of so much laughter

At 15 when it all broke off

18 and I went all natural

February 2002, I

Went on and did what I had to do

Because it was time to change my life

To become the woman that I am inside

'97 dreadlocks all gone

I looked in the mirror for the first time and saw that hey

I am not my hair

I am not this skin

I am not your expectations, no, no ♫ - India Arie


Let's just dispel the "good hair" myth...there is NO SUCH THING AS GOOD HAIR!!! Let that nonsense go!!! It is toxic and degrading to those who are deemed to have "bad hair" and for those who are deemed to have "good hair" it can be more stressful than you can even remotely imagine.


VIBE:


♫ Good hair means curls and waves

Bad hair means you look like a slave

At the turn of the century

It's time for us to redefine who we be

You can shave it off like a South African beauty

Or get in on lock like Bob Marley

You can rock it straight like Oprah Winfrey

If it's not what's on your head

It's what's underneath and say, hey

I am not my hair

I am not this skin

I am not your expectations, no ♫ - India Arie

♫ It's not what's on your head, but what's underneath...♫

Does the way I wear my hair make me a better person?

(Whoa, whoa, NO)

Does the way I wear my hair make me a better friend? Oh

(Whoa, whoa, NO)

Does the way I wear my hair determine my integrity?

(Whoa, whoa, NO)

I am expressing my creativity... ♫ - India Arie


Want to know what I'm wearing? Check out the credits below...

Today's LOTD is sponsored by LCC - Luna Chelsea Creations!


What am I wearing?


::FOUNDATION::

Head: lel EvoX BRIANNON 3.1 [Main Store]

Body: [ INITHIUM ] KUPRA B.O.M. BODY__ V. 04 FULL BODY [Main Store]


::OUTFIT::

Top: LCC - THERESA FLORAL TOP [Fatpack] [Main Store] *sponsored*

Skirt: LCC - THERESA FLORAL SKIRT [Fatpack] [Main Store] *sponsored*

Shoes: : CULT : April [Fatpack] [Main Store]


::MAKEUP::

Eyes: -Belleza- Lel EvoX Vibrant Eye Makeup Pack [limited release no longer available]

Lips: IVES x LeLU EvoX - Drama Lipgloss # PACK2 [Main Store]


::ACCESSORIES::

Hair: Mura Beauty - Eman Afro v2 w/Flower Petals [Main Store]

Manicure: Rosary. Abstract. HUD w/ Base Nails . Coffin Kupra {rigged} [Main Store]

Nail Gems: Rosary. Gem Pack . v1 Coffin Kupra {rigged} [Main Store]

Pedicure: Rosary. Send Nudes . Pedicure HUD w/ Base Nails . Kupra {rigged} [Main Store]

Earrings 1: e.marie // Leah Earrings - Golds EVOx Human [Main Store]

Earrings 2: e.marie // Lavinia Earrings - Golds EVOx Human [Main Store]

Choker: Rosary. Dragon . Choker {unrigged} [Main Store]

Bracelets: [Z O O M] Razor Triple Wrap Bracelet {unrigged} [Main Store]

Bracelets 2: RJ - Romazin Jewelers - Bracelet <Laska> {rigged} [Main Store]

Piercing: Orsini Jewelry LISA Piercings {rigged} [Main Store]

Body Chains: TETRA - Purity Bodychains {rigged} [Main Store]


::SCENERY::

Backdrop: customized by reEMagined SpaceS

Poses: FOXCITY - Caffeinated Bento Pose Set [Main Store]


**some poses have been adjusted by me using the Black Dragon poser.


I am a soul that lives within

Oh, if I wanna shave it close or I wanna rock the locks

That don't take a bit away from the soul that I got

If I wanna wear it braided all down my back

I don't see nothing wrong with that ♫ - India Arie, I Am Not My Hair!


Looking at SL through the "Eye of the Storm"

On to the next project...

Love & Light,

乇мzz:::ƒιуαнѕтσям™:::qυαи [Emerald Ishtari]


 





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page