top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmerald Ishtari

#116 - BROWN-SKINNED GIRL

Music is one of my love languages. It speaks to my soul. It calms the fire and storm that rages within. As mentioned in my last blog post, I was taking a trip in SL to Africa. This was for a destination wedding. African theme or formal. Ummm...what am I going to wear? The options in SL are so limited!! Time to get in my zone. As I do in real life...I repeat certain songs that propel me towards my goals. This time was no different...


As I adjust my crown, the intro plays a rhythmic beat coupled with the sounds of pattycake clapping...

[Verse 1: Wizkid]

She said she really grew up poor like me

Don't believe in nothin' but the Almighty

Just a likkle jeans and a pure white tee

She never dream for ever be nobody wifey, yeah

She Wilhelmina pretty, but she heart is a maze

Play ya like a villain 'cause she caught in a wave

Tonight, I am walkin' away

Nine-to-five mind, on the grind, yeah, yeah


[Pre-Chorus: Wizkid]

Tonight, I might fall in love

Dependin' on how you hold me

I'm glad that I'm calming down

Can't let no one come control me

Keep dancing and call it love

She fights it, but falling slowly

If ever you are in doubt

Remember what Mama told me


[Verse 2: Beyoncé]

Pose like a trophy when Naomi's walkin'

She need an Oscar for that pretty dark skin

Pretty like Lupita when the cameras close in

Drip broke the levee when my Kelly's roll in

I think tonight, she might braid her braids

Melanin too dark to throw her shade (Shade)

She minds her business and wines her waist

Gold like 24K, okay


[Verse 3: Beyoncé]

Oh, have you looked in the mirror lately? (Lately)

Wish you could trade eyes with me 'cause (Oh)

There's complexities in complexion

But your skin, it glow like diamonds

Pigment like the earth, you be giving birth

To everything alive, baby, know your worth

I love everything about you, from your nappy curls

To every single curve, your body natural

Same skin that was broken

Be the same skin takin' over

Most things out of focus view

But when you're in the room, they notice you (Notice you)

'Cause you're beautiful

Yeah, you're beautiful


[Pre-Chorus: Beyoncé]

Them men, them gon' fall in love (In love)

With you and all of your glory (Glory)

Your skin is not only dark (Only)

It shines and it tells your story (Story)

Keep dancin', they can't control you (Ahh)

They watchin', they all adore you

If ever you are in doubt

Remember what Mama told you


[Chorus: Wizkid & Beyoncé, Beyoncé]

Brown skin girl (Brown skin girl)

Ya skin just like pearls (Brown skin girl)

Your back against the world (Oh)

I'd never trade you for anybody else, say (No, no)

Brown skin girl (Brown skin girl)

Ya skin just like pearls (Brown skin)

The best thing about the world

I'd never trade you for anybody else, say




What am I wearing?


::FOUNDATION::

Head: CATWA HEAD HDPRO MajerSoft BentoEar v1.3

Body: -Belleza- Freya V6 BOM/BENTO


::OUTFIT::

Gown: Son!a Lori Sequins bling Blue w/added light source [Main Store]


::MAKEUP::

Eyes: VELOUR: Merllin Eyeshadow [Main Store]

Lips: IVES. Saharan Lipcream. (CATWA) HUD 'PACK001' [Main Store]


::ACCESSORIES::

Hair: ALL - Queen crown (afro puff) w/Bandana {unrigged} *NEW * [Main Store]

Crown: MAJESTY - Lizzo Headdress [Diamond] Gold {unrigged} [Main Store]

Nails: Rosary. Saucy . HUD w/ Base Nails . Coffin Belleza XL{rigged} [Main Store]

Earrings: (Kunglers) Venus Earrings - Romance {unrigged} [Main Store]

Necklace: RAWR! Drop Crystal Choker {unrigged} [Main Store]

Bracelets: Kibitz - Jewel Cuff - Gold {unrigged} [Main Store]

Armlets: MICHAN - Farrah Armlets - Gold {rigged} [Main Store]

Bag: Black Bantam [BB] La Belle Wristlet Clutch Gold [Main Store]

**Please note that some poses may have been augmented using Black Dragon or Animare by me.**

[Outro: Blue Ivy Carter]

Brown skin girl

Your skin just like pearls

The best thing in the world

I'd never trade you for anybody else, singin'

Lyrics courtesy of: Genius


Looking at SL through the "Eye of the Storm"

On to the next project...

Love & Light,

乇мzz:::ƒιуαнѕтσям™:::qυαи [Emerald Ishtari]



 

Added photos from the reel:



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page